writeshefali

EthosEnrouteExplorer

Attention Audience…Stand at ease Speaker

“Stage fright go away…this is my big day”.

Age 17. First presentation. Still remember the nervousness, the anxiety attacks, the trill once it was over.

Audience…well blank n expressionless. Instructor…hmm…judging by her feedback, I think knew what I spoke about or maybe I am just fooling myself.

While the journey did give me some bumpy rides. I did learn the art of being a decent speaker; can’t say great, let the listener’s be judge of that.

Sharing a few of my experience and avoidable pitfalls:

Topic – Understand your topic… Eyes rolling duh! everyone knows that. Yes but then…

Technical presentation. Confusing IT terms. Couldn’t recollect one particular technical name, went blank, lost my nerve & there after the presentation went downhill. Lesson learn’t: Do not underestimate the power of a single word. Even if you think it is irrelevant it can turn into a pain in the neck.

Practice..Practice..Practice—No amount of practice is enough. Standing in front of mirror, observe your expressions, make voice modulations. High/low pitch, slow/fast..pauses..work on you’re A’s and AAA’s between words and sentences.

Body language – Fidgeting is a sign of nervousness, so consciously stop it. Some stand at one place and keep swinging, not good. Too much hand movement, distracts the audience.

One of my shortcoming, my hands were usually all over the place. I kept a wireless presenter or pen which controlled them. Hand movement is good but it shouldn’t be so much that it looks like you are trying to fly.

Audience – If possible know who your listeners are going to be. Helps in customising. People from finance obviously love numbers and if it’s marketing then slogans, jingles or around their 5 P’s works well..

Punch Lines — Have an impactful start to grab attention and an impactful end to remember you by. Humour works, but keep the jokes on you not on your listeners. Interactive sessions the best. Haven’t used it, but have read storytelling has its pluses.

Visual slides: Crisp, bulleted and not explanatory, they are for your audience not you. Videos with live demos very good. I have seen listeners perk up on slides with numbers or statistics, it’s almost like they are thinking now she’s making some sense.

Be yourself: After my first presentation, instructor said I was “too stylish”. No idea back then what she meant. But later on I realised I was fast; to make an impact used too many jargons and in need of dictionary english words, making listeners not understand.

Aha! So that’s why they were so blank!

Anyway, listeners loves a sincere speaker. So just be yourself but keep that eye contact with everyone to assert your confidence.

N now…Take a deep breath. Go in with style, we are all ready…so just smile.

Happy Presentations!!!

36 comments on “Attention Audience…Stand at ease Speaker

  1. fluffysteps
    November 27, 2016

    I totally understand the struggle. I always get so nervous when I do presentations or get in front of a group of people.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ʞɐ
    November 21, 2016

    I still couldn’t overcome this stage fear thing.
    I am shit scared of it. Literally.

    But you have put up great points for someone like me to do better. Hopefully, I could learn and implement a few if not all.
    Thank you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • writeshefali
      November 22, 2016

      It takes some practice n can’t say I have gotten completely rid of my fear, it’s just lessened over time… Glad that the tips are useful n may be u might share some new ones later from your experience too 😊👍🏼

      Liked by 1 person

      • ʞɐ
        November 22, 2016

        Of course, practise and learning from the previous ones. And it’s great that it lessened.
        Yeah, thanks. Will Troy to implement them.
        Sure. Will do. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. prashantt
    November 15, 2016

    So the speaker came up with her real essence of writing…sahi hai main gaya aur itna important topic post kar diya..😛
    Very inspirative & helpful post for the readers.👏😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • writeshefali
      November 22, 2016

      Oh good to hear all went well… n your father is very wise for being cool in such situations ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. boundlessblessingsblog
    November 14, 2016

    A useful and an informative post. Very good.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. cp_chithra_cp
    November 8, 2016

    I always used to have stage fears..but I have tried to overcome it by taking deep breaths and just throwing a great smile at the audience at the beginning and end of anything I present..

    Liked by 1 person

    • writeshefali
      November 10, 2016

      That’s a great way to go…assert your confidence with smile n half the battle is won… thanks for sharing your input, really appreciate it 😊👍🏼

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Akhila
    November 8, 2016

    Ah…stand at ease…damn difficult even after many many presentations….as you said initially, jargons helped me to hide the uneasiness …but, ya..it was fake…time proved it…learning nevet ends…

    Liked by 1 person

    • writeshefali
      November 10, 2016

      I guess the nervousness will always stay… for me it stays till I start, once the first lines come out, then I ease into it….Learning will never end indeed 😊👍🏼

      Liked by 1 person

      • Akhila
        November 10, 2016

        true, once we are into the flow, after that first sentence, it becomes much easier..

        Liked by 1 person

  7. novelistbaba
    November 8, 2016

    Audience makes a big difference………..i enjoy public speaking but that doesn’t mean i am not nervous………if the audience is responsive, i try to sense their taste and liking……..but if they are not…….i just do my thing and get the hell out of there…….
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • writeshefali
      November 8, 2016

      Haha… yeah sometimes the audience just doesn’t care, n then the speaker also gets demotivated….Usually if the audience is bored than try making them get up their seat n do some form of role play or activity… might as well harass them while at it 😉😂😂😂

      Like

  8. thewritewomanblog
    November 8, 2016

    Great ideas for presentations! Of course we have all been through this but a little or okay.. lots of experience, lots of practice and some mental conviction will be a sure shot help!

    Liked by 1 person

    • writeshefali
      November 8, 2016

      Agreed the recipe of all you said put together, should surely work, Thanks for the read 😊👍🏼

      Like

  9. Sudhir Chauhan
    November 8, 2016

    good one…… confidence is the key…..

    Liked by 1 person

  10. radhikasreflection
    November 8, 2016

    All of us have those butterflies in the stomach before any presentation, isn’t it? Ready Reckoner for presentations 👍👍

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Nisthur Anadi
    October 21, 2016

    Very useful write

    Liked by 1 person

  12. fluffysteps
    May 14, 2016

    Giving presentations make me nervous, too! I’ve also started to pretend that I’m actually excited to present, which sometimes helps.

    Liked by 1 person

    • writeshefali
      May 15, 2016

      Good tip. Will remember this now, trick your mind with excitement. Thanks for visiting 🙂

      Like

  13. vincentcarlos
    May 2, 2016

    the symptoms of nervousness and excitement are the same so it’s just how you interpret your own physiological state. when I give a presentation, I like to think I’m excited, not nervous, that would be my tip:) Thank you for your tips:) Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • writeshefali
      May 2, 2016

      Thanks 🙂 n you are right it’s all in the mind. Will use this trick. Thank you for visiting and taking the time to give tips. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • vincentcarlos
        May 2, 2016

        I learned that from Simon Sinek who is my favorite speaker, it’s one of my favorite tips. no problem:)

        Liked by 1 person

  14. rANG bIRANGE
    May 1, 2016

    Good shot

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Follow writeshefali on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 621 other followers

Follow writeshefali on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 6,665 hits

Disclaimer

Copyright © 2016-17
All rights reserved.
Unless otherwise indicated. No part of these pages, either text or image may be used for any purpose.

